You have your reasons and a way to block someone on Instagram was more than necessary, so our beloved Instagram delivered.
Maybe you got sick of seeing that person you despise from high school. Perhaps some creep disturbs you. Maybe you just don’t want your ex to stalk you; it doesn’t matter.
Instagram has its share of pesky people, and at some point, you might (and probably should) want to disengage from these people.
Can You Block Someone on Instagram?
The answer is: absolutely yes.
Every Instagram user has the privilege of blocking someone on Instagram.
It is quite simple, and you just have to follow through a few steps for it.
Let’s take a look.
- First, you should visit the person’s Instagram profile who’s about to bid you farewell for the last time.
- Then tap on the three horizontal dots located in the upper right corner of your screen.
- In the menu, you just launched by tapping the three horizontal dots, comes the block option.
- Tap on that, and a message will appear, asking if you’re sure about blocking this person.
- If you are confident, you can proceed by tapping the Block option again.
That’s it. Simple, right?
Moreover, you can always change your mind and unblock the person you blocked.
However, you should bear in mind that blocking someone is something pretty noticeable if the person who’s getting blocked knows what happens when someone blocks people on Instagram.
Which brings us, to our final matter…
What Happens When You Block Someone on Instagram?
Blocking on Instagram is pretty neat and sweet, you can just cut the drama out of your life and live like those people never existed by blocking people on Instagram.
Nevertheless, if the person you blocked is someone who actually got blocked before, they will most likely know when you block them.
Although Instagram not actually notifying people that you blocked them, blocked Instagram users will stumble upon something unfamiliar when they visit your profile.
- First of all, your profile picture becomes an anonymous one for them, just like the ones that new profiles get when they get created.
- They won’t be able to see your posts or your activity.
- They can mention you on comments, but you will never get the notification for it.
- They cannot watch your stories either.
- Their comments on your posts won’t disappear when you block them. If you want them to be gone, you can manually delete them.
- You can always revert your actions by just visiting their profile and tap the Unblock button that replaced the Follow button.
Something to bear in mind: When you block someone, you cannot see their posts either.
Therefore, in conclusion, blocking someone on Instagram is a crucial option for any users out there, and we are all grateful for it. It has its flaws, sure, but it keeps the disturbance at bay.
Before we say goodbye, one last thing, as a friendly warning, if someone gets really creepy or disturbing, you should always consider reporting that person to Instagram.
You should even consider contacting the authorities if it seems necessary.
Have a pleasant and safe ride out there!